AAPPS-DPP News 2019.11.28



Brief report on the 3rd Asia-Pacific Conference on Plasma Physics (AAPPS-DPP2019) and 14th Asia-Pacific Physics Conference (APPC-14) M. Kikuchi (AAPPS-DPP chair)

AAPPS-DPP held 3rd annual conference (AAPPS-DPP2019) at Hefei and 2 weeks later joined APPC-14 at Kuching. This is just a brief report and detailed report will come later.

AAPPS-DPP2019: AAPPS-DPP2019 is DPP's 4th annual conference and was held at Crowne plaza hotel during Nov.11-15, 2019. Venue is an excellent hotel and thanks for LOC chair, Prof. Ge Zhuang. Total participants are modest at >360 due to some delay in start and participation to APPC-14 (~100) as compared with last 2 annual conferences. But the conference went well.

Detailed program can be found at http://aappsdpp.org/DPP2019Program/index.html



We celebrated 2019 Plasma Innovation prize winner Prof. Rod Boswell and U40 (Liu Chen, selection committee chair, winners are Min Chen, Wei Chen, Hui Tian, Rongsheng Wang, Zhiyong Qiu, Keigo Takeda) and U30 (Kunioki Mima, selection committee chair, winners are Sudip Mandal, Xiaofei Shen, Zhisong Qu, Masahiro Yano, Rupak Mukherjee, Weixin Guo) winners.



At the end of conference, 20 poster prize winners are announced from selection committee chair Xuru Duan; Zhengjun Mao (CD), Di Giannatale Giovanni (CD), Naoki Kenmochi (F), Shinya Maeyama (F), Dai Zhang(A), Asahi Kani(A), Xiaobo Li(B), Xiao-Juan Wang(B), Takeharu Sugawara(B), Alexandra Frolov(B), Seong Geun Lee (L), Xiancai Yu (SG), Lican Shan (SG), Fabio Sattin(SA), Ying He (MF), Wilkie Choi (MF), Emi Narita (MF), Wen He (MF), Hui Li(MF), Lei Ye

AAPPS-DPP News 2019.11.28



(MF). Next AAPPS-DPP annual conference will be held in Hotel Maison Glad Jeju, Korea during Oct. 26-30, 2020. See <u>http://aappsdpp.org/DPP2020/index.html</u> for conference detail and <u>https://www.gakkai-web.net/gakkai/aappsdpp_nm/</u> for nomination of plenary and invited speakers.

APPC-14: APPC is general physics conference held by AAPPS every 3 years. 14th conference was held in Kuching, Malaysia during Nov. 18-21, 2019. AAPPS-DPP is a major contributor (300 in APPC-12, 100 in APPC-13, 100 in APPC-14). <u>http://appc2019.ifm.org.my/</u> Total number of participants are ~520.



AAPPS-DPP's 2019 S. Chandrasekhar prize of plasma physics winners gave plenary talks and award ceremony was held at banquet. Cash prize is sponsored by ENN and Top Glove.



DPP shared 3 parallel sessions (R. Rawat, R. Matsumoto, B. Wan in charge of program) and went well.



Basic + Applied plasma session

Astro plasma session

Magnetic Fusion plasma session